Access technology training, assessments, and certification through Northstar Digital Literacy

What is Northstar Digital Literacy?

Northstar Digital Literacy is an assessment and learning tool designed to assess the skills needed to perform tasks on computers and online. Online, self-guided modules assess the ability of individuals to perform tasks based on these skills. Included are basic computer digital literacy standards and modules in three main areas: Essential Computer Skills, Essential Software Skills, and Using Technology to Accomplish Tasks.

How do I get started?

Step One: Start by requesting your Northstar Learner Account to unlock your access! Requests will be completed within 3 days of receipt. Click here to request your FREE account.

Step Two: Log in to your learner account at the website from anywhere.

Step Three: Click on any of the topics to take an assessment.

Step Four: When you feel you have mastered a particular skill set, sign up for a Charlotte Mecklenburg Library virtual proctored assessment session. During this session, you can present your ID online to formally take the assessment and obtain your official Northstar Digital Literacy Assessment (NDLA) Certification. To sign up for Northstar virtual session, click here

What topics are available for the assessment?

Essential Computer Skills

  • Basic Computer Skills (Practice lessons also available)
  • Internet Basics (Practice lessons also available)
  • Using Email (Practice lessons also available)
  • Windows and Mac OS

Essential Software Skills:

  • Microsoft Word (Practice lessons also available)
  • Microsoft Excel
  • Microsoft PowerPoint
  • Google Docs

Using Technology in Daily Life:

  • Social Media
  • Information Literacy
  • Supporting K-12 Distance Learning
  • Career Search Skills (Practice lessons also available)
  • Your Digital Footprint